BARC – General Membership Meeting, January 5, 2016

Location: Texas Lone Star Grill, Dixon Rd., Etobicoke, ON

Recorder: Moe Aye

Meeting held by: Pat McDiarmid, called to order @ 8:05pm

<u>Minutes</u> posted on web within the required time period. – November meeting accepted by 1. Dave Bailey & 2. Dave King

<u>Treasurer</u>: Keith Whorley (past treasurer): (speaking on behalf of Alisha Rashleigh (new treasurer) "TRANSITION PERIOD"

- Will put down a deposit on Ogopogo Resort for Ice Race
- Forgoing financial details as there are non-members at this meeting
- Keith will be stepping down from WWRC and Howard Cohen will be taking over

Race Director: Paul Einarson (absent d/t cold, but Keith Whorley will read an email sent on his behalf

BARC

- Not a great deal to report but here goes, we have secured the North American Radical Cup series for our July race with the assistance of the Radical Canada owner, Robert Burgess. We anticipate upwards of 25 cars from Ontario, Quebec and the United States. Our event is being promoted at the series first event later this month in Sebring.
- No confirmation yet but it seems like we will have a full slate of series plus Radicals at our July race and may help with financials to get over 2015.

ORO

- We will be confirming which series will go to each event this month and have determined the entry fee will remain the same as last year at \$500.

WRRC: Howard Cohen

- We need volunteers to man the booth at a car show (you get a weekend pass and can see the rest of the show)
- We need more sponsors and volunteers in general to join BARC and come out to races

<u>Ice Race</u>: Wayne Wanamaker – This year's dates, February 27/28, 2016. Kinsmen started track, not yet legal, but started. We need volunteers.

Newsletter: Amy McCleary (absent) – Pat will send off a newsletter as Amy has stepped down from the position.

Membership: Pavlina Krumpochova

- Need personal emails as private or business ones, when mass emails are sent, bounce back or to into SPAM
- 63+ members as of today

New Business: INSIDE TRACK

New options for Road Races: No race license required for this event (5 series, 1 day event)

Bill Lobban added that Chump Car is racing that weekend too

<u>Facebook:</u> Vic Sr. – wants racers to go on FB and let us know what your weekend was like & even Marshalls to say what they saw or witnessed.

BARC AWARDS 2016 Recipients:

Ray Lloyd Award - Spirit of BARC - Marlene Rashleigh

Gord Wakeling Award - Race Directors choice - Phil Wang

Dan Clark Award - Board Member deserving of recognition, past President's choice (first time it has been split)

Paul Einarson (absent) & Keith Whorley

Stirling Moss Award - BARC's most successful driver - Matt Garwood

(Originally won by Sir Stirling Moss, he gave it to BARC)

Bob Attrell Best New Driver Award - Highest placing BARC rookie in the Ontario Region Championship - Ben Hurst

<u>Kendall Award</u> – Most successful competitor outside Ontario Region – **Kyle Marcelli** (absent)

High Performance Tuning Award - Highest scoring BARC driver in the Ontario Championships - Bryan Rashleigh

<u>Dulmage Memorial Award</u> – Highest placing BARC member in Ice Race Championship – **Jose Peixoto**

Willy Clellan Award - Driver demonstrating enjoyment of racing - Jesse Ward (absent)

<u>Rogers-Barker Award</u> – Most consistent club worker – **Vic Henderson Sr**.

<u>President's Award</u> – BARC member deserving recognition as decided by the club president – **Brian Graham** (accepting for BGR, Kelly)

Spinning Top Award - BARC's most entertaining moment by a club member - Bryan Rashleigh

Bruce Bell Award - Best prepared car in both open & closed wheel as decided by the GRID Crew

Open Wheel - Bob Long (absent)

Closed Wheel - David Simm

Raffle Draw: 12 Calendars from England: Winners are (Sarah Brough, Kyle Bast, Noel Castell, Tom Hyland, Phil Wang, Bryan Rashleigh, Ken Graham, David Brown, David Bayley, Darlene Henderson, Moe Aye, and Pat McDiarmid)

Sponsors of BARC races: Levitt Safety; John Cosgrove from Global Warehousing; Subaru of Brampton, Khaiji Luu

Outgoing Board Members:

- Pavlina Krupochova (still staying on as Membership collector) (2013-2015)
- Keith Whorley (2010-2015)
- Paul Einarson (2006-2015)

Motion to Adjourn: 1. Mike McDiarmid & 2. Kenny Graham

of Members attended: 37 (+ some guests)

Next Meeting: February 2, 2016 (same time and place)